XSPC RayStorm on ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z

Picked up my new motherboard yesterday, ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3. Very nice M-ATX board.

Since my new PC will be water cooled I also had the XSPC Raystorm as my selected water block.
Slight issue, the block hits some tall component legs around the front of the socket, it also hits a bank of SMD resistors. If you where to clamp down the block you’d get a big short and let the magic smoke out.

I am fairly certain this issue affects  the Gene-Z and Gene-Z/Gen3.

You can cut down the component legs so they no longer touch the back plate with a set of side snips.
For the SMD resistors you can easily file down the back plate to clear them.

Hears some pics on what I did to fix the issue.


You can see more pics of the back plate and the mount on my flicker

One Response to “XSPC RayStorm on ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z”

  1. Exceptional publish. I had been examining consistently this specific blog page with this particular empowered! Really useful facts particularly the closing sections :) My spouse and i deal with such information considerably. I’m trying to get this kind of particular information for a long time. Cheers plus best of luck.

Leave a Reply

